Celebrating excellence: 189th Airlift Wing wins big at NGAUS

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Kayla Edwards
  • 189th Airlift Wing

Showcasing the Air Force’s core value Excellence in All We Do is something that the Airmen of the 189th Airlift Wing take very seriously. The wing was recently recognized for its commitment to excellence at the National Guard Association of the United States’ 140th General Conference and Exhibition held in New Orleans, LA August 24 - 27. Col. Thomas Crimmins, 189th AW commander, was on hand to receive four out of five NGAUS awards won within the Arkansas National Guard. Crimmins provided some perspective about the magnitude of the wing’s wins at NGAUS, explaining that airmen assigned to the 189th only account for about 1,100 personnel of the more than 10,000 members of the Arkansas National Guard.

“We more than represented the state of Arkansas at NGAUS and it makes me proud to know that the airmen of this wing are being recognized for the amazing jobs they do every single day,” Crimmins said.

The NGAUS conference is held annually for National Guard commissioned officers who are looking for opportunities to network, develop leadership skills, and share best practices. During the four day conference, exceptional National Guard members, as well as individuals and organizations outside of the Guard who have made a significant impact to furthering its mission, are recognized for their outstanding achievements and commitment to service.

This year, the 189th AW took home three unit level awards and one Airman earned an individual award. The 189th Operations Group was awarded the NGAUS Distinguished Flying Unit Spaatz Trophy, which is named for Gen. Carl A. Spaatz, the first Air Force Chief of Staff who fought in  both World War I and II. The Spaatz Trophy is awarded to the overall outstanding flying unit in the Air National Guard and signifies overall combat readiness.

The 189th OG also earned the Curtis N. “Rusty” Metcalf Trophy, which recognizes the airlift unit with the highest standards of mission accomplishment. The 189th Mission Support Group earned the Mission Support Trophy, which is awarded to the top overall non-flying group or unit that showcases outstanding operational readiness. Capt. Daniel Maslowski was awarded the Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award for Company Grade Officers, which recognizes the achievements and dedicated service of Army and Air National Guard junior officers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and professionalism to both country and community.

Chief Master Sgt. Ronald Boston, the 189th AW command chief, expressed his pride in the wing’s Airmen, who he lauded for contributing to the wing’s success.

“Our Airmen need to know the role they played in earning these awards,” Boston stated. “These awards represent the hard work, commitment, and dedication of all our Airmen and this is just the tip of the iceberg. This is nothing compared to what they can really do.”